Maša and Lejla to represent Montenegro in Malta

Montenegrin broadcaster RTCG announced that Maša Vujadinović (14) and Lejla Vulić (12) will represent Montenegro in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014 with song “Budi dijete na jedan dan” composed by Slaven Knezović, Miha Radonjić (music) Sanja Perić and Lejla Vulić (lyrics). Official presentation of this song is scheduled for mid September.

“I think it’s a great decision by RTCG to give an opportunity to young singers to represent their country in this prestigious competition. Maša and Lejla are perfect choice due to their talent, charm and experience – they deserved to be there. They will present wonderful duo, but as well the way of life in Montenegro and message of this song” – Slaven Knezović said. 

Maša comes from Podgorica. She participated in “X Factor Adria” and collected positive comments from the jury. You can check her audition performance here. Lejla lives in Tivat, she plays the violin and writes poems. Both of them participated in many music competitions in Montenegro and abroad. 

This year Montenegro will debut in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest as independent country. Back in 2005 they participated as Serbia and Montenegro with Filip Vučić from Nikšić. His song “Ljubav pa futbal” finished 13th with 29 poins. It was the first and the last time when Serbia and Montenegro participated in JESC together. The following year Serbia joined Junior Eurovision as an independent country, while Montenegro withdrew.

At least three former Yugoslav countries will be taking part in Junior Eurovision 2014. It is not only Montenegro, but Slovenia will also make a début. while Serbia returns after a three year break. It is also possible that Macedonia will join the competition again, even though they reached last place in 2013 with “Ohrid i muzika”.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!