What happened after Skopje Fest?

The Macedonian broadcaster MRT announced that they will analyse the televoting results of yesterday’s Skopje Fest in order to check if everything went correctly. Local media reported today about a police investigation undergoing against a few people accused on the grounds of manipulation, reportedly sending text messages from more than 1000 SIM cards. The Macedonian Ministry of Interior Affairs is involved in this case as well. Daniel Kajmakoski and his team announced that they were not involved in any actions connected with manipulations regarding televoting results. According to Vesti.mk sources, several public personalities were questioned by police last night, including Jovan Jovanov, a popular composer and singer. MRT will announce official results of Skopje Fest soon, and so far there is no mention about any disqualification.

According to the results presented by the host of Skopje Fest last night, Daniel Kajmakoski won the televoting with approx. 31% of the votes (3597 votes), Egi finished second with 23% (2688 votes) and the jury’s favorite Tamara Todevska in third place with 7% (781 votes). According to the rules, only one text message was allowed per mobile phone. Verica Pandilovska finished last in televoting, receiving only 50 votes. The 2013 Junior Eurovision entrant, Viktorija Loba received 735 votes, and because Jovan Jovanov is the composer of her song, she was also questioned by journalists about alleged accusations. “I don’t know anything and I don’t want to know anything about what has happened tonight. You have to ask those who won” – she answered.

Tamara Todevska was absent at yesterday’s official afterparty which took place close to the Vardar riverbank, even though MRT promised that the entire top 3 would take part in the party and meet with journalists and guests. “Telegraf” informed that Tamara celebrated her 2nd place in a different place with her family and friends, including her sister Tijana Dapcevic, this year’s Macedonian representative. The popular singer watched Skopje Fest from the audience and wasn’t invited to perform on stage as were Kaliopi (Eurovision 2012) and Karolina (Eurovision 2002, 2007), which both sang 3 songs each during the Interval Act.

Also worth to mention is that the winning song “Lisja esenski” was partly created by the Swedish production duo TWIN – Joacim Persson. TWIN collaborated with many popular names before i.e. Charlotte Perrelli (winner of Eurovision 1999), Helena Paparizou (winner of Eurovision 2005), No Angels (Germany 2008), Velvet or Darin (known from Melodifestivalen). Even though Kajmakoski said in an interview with us that he would prefer to sing his song in his native language next year, it is very likely that the song will be translated and performed in Vienna in English.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!