SVT announces Melodifestivalen 2017 plans

After a few weeks of well-deserved rest after organising the Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm, SVT have now announced their plans for Melodifestivalen 2017.

The set-up is the same as previous years: 28 songs will be competing for the ticket to Ukraine. 14 of them will be chosen by a jury from songs sent to both Ordinarie Tävlingen (for those who have previously released songs) and Allmänhetens Tävling (for people who have never had any songs of them released). The other 14 will be chosen by SVT themselves and can be either songs from the ones that were sent in or composers and/or artists invited by SVT.

“We are so proud of the successful ESC-broadcasts and Frans’ nice placing in the final. Now we make the switch and invest in next year’s Melodifestivalen. As usual, we are looking for songs in various languages, in different genres and different styles. Diversity and variety are corner stones of Melodifestivalen”, says Christer Björkman, who is Contest Producer for Melodifestivalen 2017 once again.

The submission period opens on the 1st of September and closes on September 16, 8:59 local time. An option to upload songs will then be available on, where the rules for Melodifestivalen can be found right now already.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!