Walter McCabe is the first Irish finalist!

Tonight, was held the first semi-final of Junior Eurovision Eire. Eight young and talented artists competed, in this semi-final, with the hope of obtaining their ticket for the Final:

  • Hannah McNicholas Roche – “Titim as a Chéile”.
  • Amy Meehan – “Tapaigh An Deis”.
  • Walter McCabe – “Las Do Sholas”.
  • Bernadette Royo – “Bean Sí”.
  • Molly McCarthy – “Imithe Leis An Ghaoth”.
  • Jael Katebe-Wini – “An Ghrá i do Chroí”.
  • Cathal Gavin – “Seo hé Mo Ghlór”.
  • Susie Power – “Popsicle”

Only one of the 8 acts competing in tonight’s semi-final qualified for the Final, which will air on November 6th. At the end of the night, the judges Fiachna O Braonain and Pauline Scanlon  joined by Jedward decided to give the golden ticket to Walter McCabe.

Jedward represented Ireland at the Eurovision Song Contest twice (in 2011 and 2012). They finished in 19th place, with a total of 46 points, in 2012.

This year, the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place in the capital city of Malta, Valletta, on the afternoon of Sunday 20 November, after Destiny Chukunyere’s victory in Sofia, last year. Malta also hosted this contest back in 2014. Last year, in Sofia, Aimee Banks represented Ireland and finished in 12th place, with a total of 36 points.

Next week, 8 other artists will take the stage to compete for a place in the Final. Until then, you can watch Walter McCabe’s performance, here.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!