Slovenia as a first ever winner of Eurovision Choir of the Year!

Carmen Manet from Slovenia has won the very first Eurovision Choir of the Year competition. The event was held in Latvia’s capital Riga and is the latest addition to the Eurovision Family of Events.

The inaugural Eurovision Choir of the Year was hosted by Grammy-winning composer and conductor Eric Whitacre and Latvian Television’s culture presenter Eva Johansone.
Each choir performed a six-minute set without music. The songs could include one or several works and pieces that reflect their respective national or regional character in some way. The choirs were judged by a high-profile jury, including British composer John Rutter and Latvian mezzo-soprano Elīna Garanča.

In total nine choirs participated in Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017. Wales participated for the first time in a Eurovision Family of Events production. The participants (in alphabetical order):

  • Hardchor Linz (Austria)
  • Les Pastoreaux (Belgium)
  • Academic Choir of Aarhus (Denmark)
  • Estonian TV Girls’ Choir (Estonia)
  • Jazzchor Freiburg (Germany)
  • Spīgo (Latvia)
  • Carmen Manet (Slovenia)
  • Bela Bartok Male Choir (Hungary)
  • Côr Merched Sir Gâr (Wales) 

Carmen Manet is a female chamber choir founded in 2011 and is made up of the best singers of past and present generations of the Gimnazija Kranj Girls Choir. Carmen Manet has been conducted by Primož Kerštanj since the beginning. Find out more about them by visiting their participant profile page. Take a look to the winning performance and announcment of a winner below!


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!