Melodifestivalen 2018 Artist Announcement!

This morning at 0930CET, SVT  announced the 28 acts who will be competing in this year’s Melodifestivalen to win the chance to represent Sweden at the Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon in May 2018

As previously reported, following his successful co-hosting in 2016 with Clara Henry and Hasse Andersson, David Lindgren will be presenting the 6 shows on his own (4 semi finals, Andre Chasen and the Final)  between 3 February through to the final on 10 March

The artist announcement was presented by David Sundin and was broadcast live here

Christer Bjorkman took to the stage firstly to explain the mix of artists that had been chosen for this years shows:

Semi Final 1 -3 February 2018 –  Karlstad at the  Löfbergs Arena

  1. Renaida with  “All The Feels”
  2. Benjamin Ingrosso with “Dance You Off”
  3. Edward Blom with “Livet på en pinne”
  4. John Lundvik with “My Turn”
  5. Kikki Danielsson with “Osby Tennessee”
  6. Sigrid Bernson with “Patrick Swayze”
  7. Kamferdrops with “Solen Lever Kvar Hos Dig”


Semi Final 2 – 10 February 2018 –  Gothenburg at the Scandinavium

  1. Ida Redig with “Allting Som Vi Sa”
  2. Jonas Gardell with  “Det Finns en Vag”
  3. Margaret with  “In my Cabana”
  4. Liamoo with “Last Breath”
  5. Samir och Viktor “Shuffla”
  6. Mimi Werner with “Songburning”
  7. Stiko Pa Larsson “Titta Vi Flyger”


Semi Final 3 – 17th February 2018 – Malmö at the Malmö Arena

  1. Martin Almgren “A Bitter Lullaby”
  2. Dotter with “Cry”
  3. Moncho with “Cuba Libre”
  4. Mendez with “Everyday”
  5. Kalle Moreaus & Orsa Spelman with “Min Drom”
  6. Jessica Andersson with “Party Voice”
  7. Barbi Escobar with “Stark”


Semi Final 4 -24 February 2018 –  Örnsköldsvik at the Fjällräven Center

  1. Felicia Olsson with “Break That Chain”
  2. Felix Sandman with “Every Single Day”
  3. Mariette with “For You”
  4. Rolandz with “Fuldanz”
  5. Emmi Christensson with “Icarus”
  6. Elias Abbas with “Mitt Paradis”
  7. Olivia with “Never Learn”


There is a good mix here of returning artists, including of course Mariette who finished 4th last year and Felix Sandman, who as part of FO&O also made the final, and Benjamin Ingrosso who last year finished 5th.

Some of the rumoured entrants (Carola, Alcazar) didn’t amount to much in the end, and Dotter was conspicuous by her absence this morning, is she too cool for this? 🙂

Margaret from Poland, who’s 2016 anthem “Cool Me Down” wasn’t chosen for Eurovision but became a huge hit all over Europe is hopefully going to gift us with another banger, but we will have to wait until 10 February to find out!

What do you think about the artists chosen for this year’s Melodifestivalen? Do you have any early favourites? Let us know in the comments below and keep following ESCBubble on social media for all the latest news on the run up to Lisbon 2018!

Sweden finished 5th in Kyiv with Robin Bengtsson and “I Can’t Go On”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!