Supernova 2018 – Meet the Artists!

This morning, LTV revealed the 2018 artists through to the final stages of “Supernova”  via a live video presented by  Agnese Rakovska , lead singer of Triana Park who represented Latvia in Kiev in May. You can watch the presentation again here

After 63 submissions were revealed to the public back in November, there has been an intensive round of public voting and professional judging before these 63 entries have been reduced to just 21 to appear in the 3 televised semi finals. Two songs will progress from each semi final to appear in the Grand Final (an increase on the previous 4 song final) and the winner will be representing Latvia at the Eurovision Song Contest which will be held in Lisbon, Portugal in May.

There are a few returning artists appearing, including Markus Riva, Lauris Valters, DVINES, Katrine Lukin, Monta (part of My Radiant You) and Edgar Kreilis, who has recently taken part in the Latvian version of X Factor.

The full list of artists and their songs is as follows, and there are some familiar names amongst the songwriters too!

  1. Agnese Stengrevics “You Are My World
    Songwriters: Helvijs Stengrevics, Agnese Stengrevics
  2. Edgar Kreilis “Younger Days
    Songwriters: Edgar Kreilis, Kaspars Ansons
  3. Markus Riva “This Time” 
    Songwriters: Markus Riva, Kaspar Anson, Edgar Krastiņš, Quincy Thompson
  4. In My Head “Sunset
    Songwriters: Evija Smagare, Armands Varslavans, Rūdolfs Iļkins
  5. Ritvars “Who’s Counting?
    Songwriters: Rihards Lībietis, Marcis Vasiļevskis, Toms Lisments, Kristīne Pleša, Erna Daugaviete, Toms Kursītis, Martins Miljevs, Dāvis Bindemanis, Sabīne Žuga
  6. DVINES “More than meets the eye
    Songwriters: DVINES, Pēteris Pāšs, Andris Strazds, Kaspars Ansons
  7. Lauris Valters “Lovers Bliss
    Songwriter: Lauris Valter, Reinis Briģis
  8. Katrina Gupalo & the Black Birds “Intoxicating Caramel
    Songwriters: Katrina Gupalo
  9. Ed Rallidae “What I Had With You
    Songwriters: Aminata Savadogo, Kaspar Anson
  10. Hypnotic “Pray
    Songwriters: Sabine Geyb, Beatrice Heisler, Ruslan Kuksinovich
  11. Sudden Lights “Just Fine
    Songwriters: Andrey Reinis Zitmanis, Karlis Matīss Zitmanis, Martins Matīss Zemītis, Kārlis Valtiņš
  12. Jenny May “Soledad
    Songwriters: Maija Stuģe, Martin Karl Hägglund, Martin Björn Hanzén, Tim Erik Åström, Michael Javier Hernan Barraza Alfaro
  13. Kris & Oz “Morning Flight
    Songwriters: Arturs Osipovs, Kristīne Morina, Kristīne Sisjeva, Aleksandrs Solovjovs
  14. Rahu the Fool “Oh, Longriver
    Songwriters: Pēteris Narubins, Rahu the Fool
  15. Monta “1000 Roses
    Songwriters: Monta Ķimene
  16. MADARA “Esamību”
    Songwriters: Madara Fogelmane
  17. Katrine Lukin “Running Red Lights
    Songwriters: Katrine Lukin, Andris Lukin, Kaspar Anson
  18. Riga Reggae “STOP THE WAR U2
    Songwriters: Horens Stalbe, Vladimirs Eglītis, Martins Burkevics, Renart Braufmanis
  19. Liene Greifāne “Walk the Talk
    Songwriters: Liene Greifane, Ylva Persson, Linda Persson
  20. MIONIA “You
    Songwriters: Maija Līcīte
  21. Laura Rizzotto “Funny Girl
    Songwriters: Laura Rizzotto

There is no confirmation yet as to the voting procedures that will be used for Supernova 2018, last year the Spotify platform was brought in to promote the songs and the amount of listens was taken into account when it came to the results. We also await confirmation of the dates for the shows, but here at ESCBubble, like in 2017, hope to be there to bring you all the news on Latvia’s big night!

Triana Parks represented Latvia in Kiev this year, somehow failing to qualify for the Grand Final, watch their performance here, and follow us on ESCBubble for all the Supernova news as it’s announced


Let us know your favourites from this year’s Supernova songs in the comments below

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!