Malta to use The X Factor to choose its 2019 Eurovision representative

TVM, the Maltese broadcaster responsible for choosing the country’s Eurovision act, has today announced via its website that it will use The X Factor reality show to decide its 2019 artist.

The X Factor, is a Syco Entertainment format that was created by the British producer Simon Cowell.  It was first broadcast in the United Kingdom in 2004 and it has led to the establishment of many superstar acts such as Leona Lewis, Little Mix and One Direction.

Many Eurovision acts have been chosen after taking part in their own countries X Factor, such as Dami Im from Australia, Zhana Bergendorff from Bulgaria and Francesca Michielin from Italy.

Malta first competed in Eurovision in 1971, and consistently entered the contest since 1991.  Their highest placing was 2nd both in 2002 and 2005 with the songs ‘7th Wonder’ by Ira Losco and ‘Angel’ by Chiara.  In 2018 Malta failed to qualify for the Final after Christabelle finished 13th in the second semi final with ‘Taboo’.

What do you think of this surprise announcement?  Let us know on our social media channels.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!