Israeli broadcaster KAN is now a full EBU member!

Israel has been through quite a journey when it comes to the Eurovision Song Contest the past 1.5 years.
When handing out the Israeli points during the Eurovision 2017 final in Kyiv, spokesman Ofer Nachshon announced that broadcaster IBA would be closing down, sparking worry among Eurovision fans.

A new broadcaster called KAN (”Here” in Hebrew) would be taking its place but the question was wether it could enjoy full EBU-membership due to the EBU seeing too much government involvement and no news being broadcasted on the channel, which is an EBU-requirement.
On May 25 of 2017, the then existing split between news and entertainment taken by the parliament was halted by the Israeli court and IBPC had since the started airing news every evening plus a more extensive look at the news on Thursday-, Friday-, Saturday- and Sunday nights.
Right after, KAN applied for full EBU membership.

KAN received special permission from the EBU itself so they could continue doing their EBU-business, which includes participating in the Eurovision Song Contest.
In the meantime they won gloriously in Lisbon last May thanks to Netta and her quirky anthem ‘Toy’ and preparations for the contest in Tel Aviv are in full swing.
Today, more good news can be added to that as the EBU’s General Assembly has approved KAN’s application for full membership!

In joy, some popular KAN-profiles have made a funny yet very informative video to celebrate!
Here we can see Nadav Embon, Melech Zilbershlag (both featured in a funny sketch following the Tel Aviv host city announcement), Elia Grinfeld and Lucy Ayoub (who is heavily rumoured to get the job as Green Room host at Eurovision 2019):

At the end, the happy foursome welcome us to Tel Aviv 2019.
Let’s take a look at the reason all of this is possible in the first place!

What do we think?
Would it be nice to see these people in the video above involved in Eurovision 2019 in Tel Aviv?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!