Australia secure a spot at Eurovision for the next 5 years!

The EBU have revealed that Australia is here to stay… for the next five years at least! From 2019 all the way to 2023, broadcaster SBS and their producter partner Blink TV will have a guaranteed place at Eurovision.
This news comes out as Australia celebrate sending their 5th to the contest.

SBS have been broadcasting the contest, under great popularity, for 35 years now and Australia’s participation in the contest began when Jessica Mauboy performed as the interval act at Eurovision 2014 with ‘Sea of Flags’.
A year later they had their debut in Vienna when Guy Sebastian sang ‘Tonight Again’. Since then, Australia have been in the final every year, almost winning the contest even in 2016 when Dami Im brought ‘Sound of Silence’ to a second place!

Paul Clarke, Director Blink TV and the Australian Head of Delegation is delighted and says:

This is a wonderful validation of what Australia has brought to Eurovision, and we say ‘Thank You Europe!’ for their decision. It’s been ten years since we first took a team to Eurovision—just Julia and Sam, myself and a cameraman. Since then SBS’s coverage has grown, and the Australian music artists and industry have completely risen to the exciting challenge. Australians have really fallen in love with the joy, and Eurovision has become part of the Australian entertainment calendar. Europe knows it can always expect great music and passion from Australia.

This year, after organising their first national selection ever, they’re sending their winner Kate Miller-Heidke with ‘Zero Gravity’:

Good luck, Australia!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!