ESCBubble’s New Music Catchup

It’s been a busy couple of weeks here at ESCBubble as the National Final season reaches it peak. So we’re rounding up the new releases fortnightly until all Eurovision countries have their 2019 entry in the bag. We will however still be bringing you all the best new releases from former and current Eurovision and National Final artists!

Netta – Bassa Sababa

We brought you news of the 2018 Eurovision champion’s first release since the victory of ‘Toy’ a couple of weeks ago. Since then it has been in or around the top 10 in Israel on iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music and Youtube. So if you haven’t heard it yet here’s ‘Bassa Sababa’:

Mikolas Josef – Abu Dhabi

Mikolas finished in 6th place at Eurovision 2018, the Czech Republic’s best ever finish. Since the contest he served up the absolute bop ‘Me Gusta’ late last year and his next single is the intriguingly titled ‘Abu Dhabi’. About the composition of the song Mikolas said:

I wrote Abu Dhabi in less than an hour, the speed was incredible, the studio was really successful, and when I let it go to friends, everyone was crazy. I knew I had something special in my hands.

Greta Salome – Mess It Up

Written by Emil Lei, two time Iceland Eurovision artist Greta Salome returns with ‘Mess It Up’. Talking about how the song came about she said:

This song was written in a heatwave in Copenhagen last summer. I was there for a week working with Danish graduates Emil Lei. We thought this song needed a bit of text. We decided to write a text about a person who is always messing around, knowing about it, warning about it, but has no plans to change.

Saara Aalto – Dance Like Nobody’s Watching

Finland’s 2018 Eurovision artist, Saara Aalto, has once again survived another week in the hit UK tv competition ‘Dancing On Ice’. She is concurrently receiving some excellent promo across the UK media and has now released a new version of ‘Dance Like Nobody’s Watching’ as her latest single, which is taken from her 2018 album ‘Wild Wild Wonderland‘:

Bonnie Tyler – Hold On

Not many Eurovision artists have made it to their 17th studio album but the UK’s Bonnie Tyler will be releasing ‘Between The Earth and The Stars‘ on March 22nd. Although she only managed 19th place at the 2013 Contest with ‘Believe In Me’, she is one of the most successful acts outside of Eurovision in her own right. Her first single from the forthcoming album is called ‘Hold On’:

Jamala – SOLO

2016 Eurovision winner Jamala returns with her new single ‘Solo’! As well as returning as a judge on the Ukrainian selection show ‘Vidbir’, she’s found time to get into the recording studio for a new English language single. Her views on the song:

Working on this song was incredibly interesting. I do not cease to rejoice in the way new technologies today allow us to write music with a person who is on the other end of the Earth! It was a very interesting experience. I think the new song will appeal to my fans both in Ukraine and in other countries.

Juan Magan, Hyenas, Mohombi, Yasiris – Claro Que Si

Now time for a song from a 2019 National Final entrant. Mohombi breezed though Heat 1 of Melodifestivalen with his entry ‘Hello’, and he’ll be one of the 12 finalists fighting to be the Swedish Eurovision entrant at the Final on 9th March. He’s also found time to team up with Spanish hitmaker Juan Magan, who you may remember featuring in our review last year when he hooked up with Ana Guerra. Here’s ‘Claro Que Si’ (Eng: ‘Of Course’):

Bustamente ft Ana Guerra – Desde Que Te Vi

Speaking of Ana Guerra, here she is featuring on a new single with Spanish singer Bustamente, a star from the 2001 series of Operacion Triunfo where he went on to finish 3rd. Ana of course was a finalist in the 2017 edition and had a huge smash in 2018 with ‘Lo Malo’ with fellow OT artist Aitana. Here is their collaboration ‘Desde Que Te Vi’ (Eng: ‘Since I Saw You’):

Emmanuel Moire – La femme au milieu

Emmanuel is another act from the 2019 National Final alumni. His song ‘La Promesse’ finished 4th at ‘Destination Eurovision‘, the French selection show and he’s wasted no time in getting some new music out. ‘La femme au milieu’ (Eng: ‘The Woman In The Middle’) is taken from his imminent album ‘Odyssée‘ which is released on February 15th:

Cleo – WRRRA

Half of the 2014 Polish Eurovision duo, Cleo (real name Joanna Klepko), continues to have a successful career before and after the contest. A 2011 X Factor contestant, she is still having success on the charts, with a number one single ‘Łowcy gwiazd’ as recently as last year. Here she returns with ‘WRAAA”!:

Nathan Trent – Legacy

Another artist we like to feature regularly, Nathan Trent was a grand finalist for Austria back in the 2017 contest with his entry ‘Running On Air’. Nathan explained what his new single ‘Legacy’ means to him:

‘Legacy’ marks a new area in my career. It’s about honoring your own work and celebrating your capacities, achievements and independence. Writing this song took almost a year and this process helped me to rediscover my worth as an artist and lyricist. I’m so excited for this song to be released into the world.

Kerli – Legends

We previously brought you news that a new Kerli album was in the works, and now the 2017 Estonian ‘Eesti Laul‘ runner up is ready to drop the finished result. ‘Legends’ is the third cut from the album ‘Shadow Works’ which you’ll be able to buy and stream on February 22nd:

MAID – Stalker

Our final new release is from a National Final which has only just taken place – the UK’s ‘Eurovision: You Decide‘. Three piece girl group MAID (Blythe, Miracle and Kat) took part in the first part of the show during a sing off of the song ‘Freaks’ but unfortunately it didn’t make the final three. The group had some interesting things to say about their National Final experience and the reason to release a new single straight away:

And Finally….

IT’S SO MUCH BIGGER!!! No we’re not talking about UK’s song by Michael Rice but the ESCBubble 2019 National Finals Spotify playlist, which is now in excess of 230 songs. We have collated entries from Albania, Australia, Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden and Ukraine! Discover this Eurovision feast below!

All the songs featured today and throughout February can be found in our playlist below and via our home page:

Which was your favourite new release of the last two weeks? Let us know on our social media channels!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!