Mitch Tambo & iOTA confirmed for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’

Two weeks after broadcaster SBS Australia revealed the first two names for the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 national selection show ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides‘, SBS have revealed the next two artists that will be competing for a shot at representing Australia in Rotterdam next May.

Vanessa Amorosi and Casey Donovan will be joined by rising First Nations artist Mitch Tambo and multi-award winning singer-songwriter and actor iOTA.

With a musical style that blends traditional sounds and language with contemporary beats and production, Mitch Tambo is a new voice for a generation seeking music that cuts across cultures. He is perhaps most recognised for his appearance earlier this year on Australia’s Got Talent where he made the finals, check out his legendary performance of John Farnham’s ‘You’re the Voice‘ below.

Speaking of the opportunity, Tambo has said “I’m thrilled to be part of Eurovision Australia Decides in 2020 and to get the chance to perform on the world’s biggest stage”.

Meanwhile, iOTA brings a shed-load of experience, being a critically acclaimed singer/songwriter, stage and screen actor, writer, composer and voice-over artist. You may recognise him from his big screen appearances in The Great Gatsby or Mad Max: Fury Road or his lengthy, successful career on stage in productions such as The Rocky Horror Show and Smoke & Mirrors.

“I’m not your typical music competition kind of guy, but I am attracted to the Eurovision Song Contest for the colour and movement, music and performance, light and shade, creativity and self-expression, singing and working an audience,”


He’s also promised us glitter, smoke, fire and some kind of explosion! It’s safe to say that iOTA’s stage performance is going to be brilliant.

Eurovision – Australia Decides will take place on Saturday 8th February 2020 to be hosted once again by Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey. In 2019, SBS Australia debuted their national selection show after four years of internal selection. The inaugural show was won by Kate Miller-Heidke who took winning song ‘Zero Gravity’ to this years Eurovision in Tel Aviv, placing 9th with 284 points.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!