More talent from Malta as Bootcamp Comes to an End

Last week bootcamp on Malta’s 2020 Eurovision artist selection process ‘X Factor Malta‘ kicked off and we got to see plenty of performances. For all the singers who made it past their first audition, this is their last chance to stand out before the line-up is cut down for the infamous six chair challenge.

In this weeks episode, we saw the groups that were put together from solo artists at the start of bootcamp perform, along with the final performances from the soloists who are all those hoping to secure a place in the next round.

Two of last years contestants, Isaac Mercieca & Miguel Bonello, kicked off the night with their inaugural performance as a duet with ‘Dancing With A Stranger‘ by Sam Smith & Normani. After getting the knock of being taken out of the process as a solo artist, it can be pretty tough to pick yourself up… the boys showed they were resilient and won big praise from judge Alexandra Alden. Chrissy Warrington (who had a GREAT audition), Rebecca Mifsud and Brenda De Battista also impressed with an ukulele-accompanied performance of Josie Dunne’s ‘Good Boys‘. One of the better performances came from duo Julia Balzan and Samira Cauchi who gave a pretty incredible rendition of ‘lovely‘ by Billie Eilish & Khalid. Check out their incredible harmonies here;

Elsewhere, trio Ilenia Camilleri, Haley Azzopardi & Michela Abdilla slowed down the Sigala & Ella Eyre banger ‘Came Here For Love‘ where all three showed they had strong voices. Whilst all three did well as soloists, they definitely could do with tightening up those harmonies – of course it is still early days and they’ve only just been thrown together so plenty of time to grow as a team! A group consisting of Shannon McEvoy, Cora Elizabeth Lewis, Ludivine O’Toole and Louanne Ronayne impressed with Rihanna’s ‘Love On The Brain‘ whilst Maya Sesay’s group gave us an edgy performance of David Guetta’s ‘Hey Mama‘. The best group performance of the night came from Ema Vella, Chanelle Zarb, Demi Galea and Megan Caruana who performed ‘Runnin‘. After giving some of the best auditions, we couldn’t quite believed that they got put in a group … but the performance showed it may actually have been a good decision! All four shone individually and as a group, and we reckon they could be ones to look out for the big win.

The only group of guys put together … Aaron Barbara, Justin Parnis, Anthony Scinta and Christopher Cassar brought a certain factor of loveability with their rousing rendition of Elvis Presley’s ‘Blue Suede Shoes‘. Cousin duo Two Blocks Away didn’t give the strongest performance of the night, however the new duet consisting of James Mifsud and Yazmin Helledie performed the hell out of ‘You’re The One That I Want‘ from Grease. The chemistry was everything – couple goals.

We saw an array of the remaining soloists with their final moment to shine – some of the most impressive performances came from Dav Jr and Kyle Cutajar who will surely be getting more and more fans after their performances. Matt Blxck also gave a brilliant performance, standing out even more within his category!

Meanwhile the girls category is going from strength to strength, as the very talented Karin Duff, Justine Shorfid, Jasmine Abela, Marija Bellia (special shoutout for singing an incredible song by Faouzia!), Jelena Attard, Gail Attard and Destiny Chukunyere took to the stage and showed us they meant business in this competition.

Jozi, Karl Schembri, Chantal Catania, Francesca Borg, Jurgen Volkov, Michelle and Edward Abdilla also all impressed with some brilliant performances.

We then found out which acts made it through to six chair challenge; for the girls Karin Duff, Jasmine Abela, Maria Ellul, Charisse Vassallo, Danika Cutajar, Lisa-Marie Tabone, Justine Shorfid, Jelena Attard, Destiny Chukunyere, Gail Attard, Julia Camilleri, Marija Bellia and Kylie Meilak made it through, with Miriana Conte once again being put in a group.

For the boys; Dayle Camilleri, Kyle Cutajar, Cain Portelli, Nedved Galea, Jake Camilleri, Logan Borg, Karl Schembri, Giovanni, Dav Jr., Matt Blxck, Jurgen Volkov & Noah Grech will all face the chairs.

For the overs; Benjamin Attard, Kersten Graham, Mark Morales, Edward Abdilla, Rhys Pateni, Matthew Vassallo, Celine Agius, Derrick Schembri, Paul Anthony, Michelle, Jozi, Chantal Catania and Francesca Borg will all be getting to sing on the big stage again.

Whilst the groups that made it through were; Isaac & Miguel, James & Yazmin, Julia & Samira, To Blocks Away, the four new girl groups, the male band (minus Justin who bowed out of the group and competition). Miriana Conte’s new trio also made it through to the six chair challenge!

To end the show … the judges received their categories! Ira Losco will take the Girls, Ray Mercieca the Boys, Alexandra Alden the Overs and Howard Keith Debono the Groups.

1 Comment
  1. […] X Factor Malta och – Sammanställning av […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!