Melodifestivalen welcomes Lena Philipsson to its Hall of Fame!

SVT are continuing to reveal artists who are being enrolled to the Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame with the next act being Eurovision 2004 representative Lena Philipsson! Lena joins fellow Mello star Nanne Grönvall in being announced today joining the growing list of names in the Hall of Fame including the six Swedish Eurovision winners ABBA, Herreys, Carola, Charlotte Perrelli, Loreen and Måns Zelmerlöw, as well as the first ever Swedish representative; Alice Babs.

Lena has a long history with the Melodifestivalen competition first taking part back in 1986 with her song “Kärleken är evig” (Love is Eternal), three further Mello appearances followed in 1987 (Dansa i neon), 1989 (Om igen) and in 2004 where she won the competition with “Det gör ont”.

“Det gör ont” was translated into English for the Eurovision Song Contest into “It Hurts” and achieved a very respectable 5th place. As well as performing Lena has also taken part a further two times as a songwriter in both 1991 with Pernilla Wahlgren and in 1999 with Arvingarna.

Let us know your favourite Lena Melodifestivalen entry and who else you would like to see put forward for the Hall of Fame. Take a listen to Lena’s winning entry from 2004 in its original Swedish glory!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!

ESCBubble uses cookies to ensure that you are given the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.Ok