Hooverphonic change their line-up!

A change of line-up has taken place inside the Belgian band Hooverphonic!
Throughout the years, the band has had several lead singers. In 2018 Luka Cruysberghs started to front the group, after catching the public eye in 2017 when she won The Voice Van Vlaanderen (The Voice of Flanders).
Now, after former leadsinger Geike Arnaert had called band member Alex Callier to discuss something practical, the idea was born to reunite!
Geike was the lead singer when the band scored their monster hit ‘Mad About You’:

To the press, Hooverphonic explain:

We [Geike and Alex – ed.] crossed paths. We started talking. All three of us had the urge to work together again, so we felt we had to do this. It’s still the core Hooverphonic, that’s, to many people, still synonymous with the band. It’s as simple as that.

Though Alex adds:

It is ofcourse a bit bittersweet for Luka. She is, without a doubt, a splendid singer. We’ve had three fantastic years with Luka, but our collaboration ends here. We’ve travelled through Europe and the United States and lived many memorable moments together.
We will keep supporting her with all our hearts. Universal will give her a solo single and, if she wants, I will keep mentoring her solo, ofcourse.

The band confirms it’s Geike who will be in the Eurovision adventure with them. To celebrate the 20-year anniversary of ‘Mad About You’, they release the 2020 version, once again with Geike:

Hooverphonic’s Eurovision single will be released next spring.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!