Erika Vikman releases a new song!

UMK 2020 runner-up and public favorite Erika Vikman has released a new single. You can watch the music video of the song Häpeä (Shame), directed by Viivi Huuska, here:

Erika Vikman became familiar to Eurovision fans in 2020, when she finished 2nd in Uuden musiikin kilpailu (UMK) with her song Cicciolina. Vikman was the front-runner in the contest, but in the end the votes of the international juries gave the victory to Aksel Kankaanranta and his song Looking back, even though Vikman recieved the most public votes. Cicciolina became maybe the biggest hit song in UMK’s history, and Vikman’s career continued rising after UMK 2020. In August 2020 Vikman released the single Syntisten pöytä (The Table of Sinners), which was her first solo single after Cicciolina. Also Syntisten pöytä became a hit song in Finland. 

In her new single Häpeä Vikman continues with some same themes than in Cicciolina and Syntisten pöytä: bravery, one’s right to be whatever she or he wants to be and strong confident femininity. The song is about the moment when one finally lets go of the shame that has been chaining her life. In the chorus of Häpeä Vikman sings: ”And this is your stop, you stay here. It’s time for me to be who I am without shame. This is your stop, you stay here. I feel lighter already without shame.” 

Vikman returned to UMK-stage in February, when she opened UMK 2021 together with the show’s host, Finnish pop star Antti Tuisku. You can rewatch their amazing opening number here: 


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!