The Voice Georgia blind auditions over, battles underway

Just before year-end, The Voice Georgia concluded its first round, with 32 acts going through into the second.

The format, based on the original The Voice of Holland series that began in 2010, is currently owned by ITV Studios and has travelled to over 70 countries worldwide. The Georgian Public Broadcaster announced back in August 2022 that the eventual winner of the seventh series of their adaptation would compete for Georgia in Liverpool, with an internally-selected song.

Among the four coaches on the Georgian show are two Eurovision alumni: Sopho Toroshelidze, who finished 9th in 2011 as lead singer of Eldrine with the song One More Day, the country’s joint best ever result, and Stephane Mgrebishvili, who, along with 3G, were due to compete in 2009 with We Don’t Wanna Put In, before being disqualified for breaking the EBU’s rule on political lyrics. Also on the panel are the bandana-clad musician and composer David Evgenidze and Georgian music veteran Dato Porchkhidze.

The first round, the “blind auditions”, involves the coaches selecting acts based on their voice alone, to the point where each is left with eight. These acts compete against each other one-on-one in the second round, the “battles”, where, in the Georgian edition, the coaches have the chance to “steal” losing competitors and put them on their team. If a contestant isn’t stolen, they are eliminated.

The show began airing on Thursday 8th December in weekly installments until the fifth episode, which was on New Year’s Eve. The final will take place on 2nd February 2023. Divided by coaches and taking into account the first battles episode, these are the remaining acts:

Dato: Ekaterine Mdivani, Erekle Turkadze, Irakli Kapanadze, Iru Khechanovi, Koka Davitadze, Nini Asiliani, Tako Kakalashvili, Tsotne Barbakadze

David: Allegro, Ani Nozadze, Giorgi Datiashvili, Giorgi Putkaradze, Gvantsa Kupatadze, Kakha Aslamazashvili, Mariam Buighlishvili (eliminated), Salome Takaishvili, Sopho Garakanidze,

Sopho: Anika Gabiskiria, Anri Bolkvadze (eliminated), Lika Siradze, Mariam Kokeladze, Mariam Kokeladze, Salome Tsintsadze, Sopho Batilashvili, Tina Datikashvili

Stephane: Aliona Tsintsadze (eliminated), Anka Tatarashvili, Ana Vashakmadze, Dato Rusadze, Likuna Tutisani, Luka Niavadze, Saba Chachua

Fans of Junior Eurovision may recognise the name Iru Khechanovi as one of the members of girl group CANDY, who won the Contest in 2011 with the Disco-inspired Candy Music. She was one of the first to win a battle on 31st December.

Georgia has competed at Eurovision on 14 occasions, but hasn’t qualified for the final since 2016’s Midnight Gold. Last year, indie rock band Circus Mircus finished 18th and last in the second semi-final in Turin with Lock Me In.

Have you been watching The Voice Georgia? Who’s been your favourite so far? Remember to follow ESCBubble on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and Twitter for more exclusive Eurovision content!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!