Voyager is heading to Liverpool for Australia

G’day Australia! Eurovision’s newest nation released its 2023 entry bright and early this morning down under, or at 19:30 CET Tuesday in Europe. Broadcaster SBS decided on an internal selection this year, and they chose ‘Australia Decides 2022’ runner-up Voyager!

Voyager formed back in 1999 in Perth and are considered a progressive metal band. Since then, they have released seven full studio albums, the most recent in 2019. The band has seen many artists come and go over the years, but is currently comprised of:

  • Daniel Estrin (vocals, keys)
  • Simone Dow (guitars)
  • Scott Kay (guitars)
  • Ashley Doodkorte (drums)
  • Alex Canion (bass, vocals)

This selection is Voyager’s third attempt to represent Australia at Eurovision, as back in 2020 they were shortlisted for ‘Australia Decides’ with the song “Runaway,” but ultimately were not chosen. Of course last year Voyager performed “Dreamer”, and ranked 3rd with the jury and winning the televote. However when both scores combined, the band came just 3 points behind winner Sheldon Riley.

This marks Australia’s first internal selection since 2018 (excluding 2021 when Montaigne was invited to return). When Australia has chosen an artist internally, the country has a 100% qualification rate for the Grand Final.

Are you pleased with Australia’s choice? Let us know below in the comments! You can check out the music video for “Promise” here:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!