Non-Eurovision Fans React to Eurovision 2023!

ESCBubble’s series of  “Public Reacts to Eurovision” is back for its eighth season! Non-Eurovision fans – casual viewers of the Eurovision Song Contest, of different ages and professions and from different parts of the world listen to all 37 competing songs for the very first time, and react to them! Once again we are going to combine the scores of the reviewers with scores of our team members, as well as You – our readers, in order to select our own winner of Eurovision 2023.

Who are our reviewers?

In this year’s season of Public Reactions we have a record of a total of 18 people of different ages and professions taking part! From students, to pensioners, musicians to teachers, from people who work in hospitality to people who work in the IT or hospitals – we have them all.  All of them are casual viewers of Eurovision. Some of the faces will already be familiar, as they took part in our project in the previous years as well. These include:

    • 🇬🇧 Barbara, George, Mairi, Claudia & JP
    • 🇷🇸 Miloje
    • 🇭🇺 Szasza
    • 🇭🇷 Ivana
    • 🇦🇺 Nick and Ryan
    • 🇬🇷 Kyriakos
    • 🇹🇷 Mehmet
    • 🇪🇪 Tambet

    They are joined by a total of five ‘newcomers’ to our series:

    • 🇮🇪 Nora
    • 🇪🇪 Elena
    • 🇵🇱 Michal
    • 🇮🇹 Raf
    • 🇬🇧 Gemma


  • We played all of the selected songs for Eurovision 2023 to them for the first time, and asked them for their honest first impressions for each of the songs. As always, we will present to you their comments for each song, one by one, starting tomorrow, with Norway – “Queen of Kings” by Alessandra.

    How will we choose ESCBubble’s winner of Eurovision 2023?

    Our voting system will consist of three votes – Public Reactions votes, ESCBubble team members’ vote, and our readers’ vote. Each of the votes will weigh 33% of the final result.

    All of our reviewers were asked to score each of the 37 songs from 1 to 10, meaning that each song can get a minimum of 18 and a maximum of 180 points.

    18 of our team members have also scored each of the songs from 1 to 10 as well, where each song can get a minimum of 18 and a maximum of 180 points once again.

    The scores from our readers will be calculated to have the same weight as those from our reviewers and editors. If only maximum scores are received in our daily polls, the song will get 180 points, and lower scores will reduce this accordingly. The polls will be open as the article with the reviews is published, and will close the following day with the next article.

    The top 10 songs from both semi finals will qualify for ESCBubble’s Final. In case of a tie, the votes of our reviewers will be the tie-breaker.

    ESCBubble’s Final

    The ‘Big Five’ countries, Ukraine, and our 20 qualifiers (10 from each semi) will compete in ESCBubble’s Final. The winner of our final is going to be selected by the following three sets of votes:

    • All scores of our reviewers from the first round remain, and represent the first vote
    • Our jury panel consisting of 18 jurors will vote Eurovision style for their 10 favorite songs of our 26 finalists, and this will represent the second vote
    • The third vote will be from our readers in our Final Poll. The Final poll will be opened as soon as all the 26 finalists are known, and it will run for five days. The points awarded to each song will correspond to the percentage each song received in our Final poll, and the total amount of points will equal the amount of points given out by our jury panel.
    • In case of any ties, the results from our readers via our poll are going to be the tie-breaker.

    Make sure to check and subscribe to our Youtube channel so you don’t miss any of our reaction videos.

    Our winner last year was Chanel from Spain, and you can see here just how pleased she was to receive the trophy in Turin!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!