Jan Smit leaves the Dutch Eurovision selection committee after the selection of Mia and Dion!

The popular Dutch singer and TV-presenter, who co-hosted the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest held in Rotterdam, left the Dutch committee that selects the entries for the Eurovision Song Contest. Even though the original news announced by AVROTROS – the Dutch national broadcaster, that the selection of “Burning Daylight” and Mia Nicolai & Dion Cooper was unanimous, it seems that the reality is a little bit different.

The Dutch Eurovision selection committee consisted of six members – Cornald Maas (TV presented, and the Dutch Eurovision commentator), radio DJs Sander Lantinga and Carolien Borgers, former DJ and presenter Hila Noorzai, AVROTROS General Manager Eric van Stade, and Jan Smit. They were in charge of selecting which act is going to be representing the Netherlands in Liverpool, and the news broke today that Jan Smit was the only one opposing the selection of Mia and Dion, and that he has stepped down from the selection committee as he no longer felt comfortable being one of the members.

Ad.nl reports that Smit did not leave the committee after the preview parties and the first live performances of Mia Nicolai & Dion Copper, but before that, and thus his decision has nothing to do with the fact that there has been a lot of criticism towards AVROTROS for this selection. The General Manager of AVROTROS defended the decision by saying:

The song has made a great impression on the entire selection committee. The selection committee was, unanimously, very pleased with their song in which their voices come together beautifully.

He also added that later this year, AVROTROS will evaluate this year’s participation, and he did not exclude the possibility of a return of Nationaal Songfestival, where the public would choose the entry for Eurovision 2024.

Nevertheless, Jan Smit is going to be joining Cornald Maas as the Dutch Eurovision commentator this year live from Liverpool.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!