Changes coming to Benidorm Fest 2024

Undeterred after a disappointing result at Eurovision in Liverpool, Spanish broadcaster RTVE is already looking ahead to Benidorm Fest 2024 to choose its 62nd Eurovision entry.

The third edition of the Benidorm Fest will be co-directed by Ana María Bordas and César Vallejo. Ana María will resume her role as Spain’s Head of Delegation at Eurovision from Eva Mora, and she is also director of RTVE Originals. César is deputy director of RTVE Play Premieres. Also, María Eizaguirre, Director of Communication and Participation at RTVE, will continue to lead the organization of the events and communication of the Benidorm Fest.

RTVE has also chosen three musical advisers for Benidorm Fest 2024: Pablo Cebrián (musician, composer and music producer), David Martínez [aka Rayden] (participed in Benidorm Fest 2022 with Calle de la llorería placing 4th overall), and Tony Sánchez-Ohlsson (producer and composer of songs including I Love You Mi Vida, Quédate conmigo and Amanecer, among others).

Bordas, Vallejo, Cebrián, Rayden, and Sánchez-Ohlsson will be joined by 5 other music experts to form a “committee of experts” that will work on Benidorm Fest 2024. The others include José Pablo López (Director of General Content at RTVE), María Eizaguirre, Virginia Díaz (director of the program ‘180 degrees’ on Radio 3), Tony Aguilar (Eurovision commentator for RTVE), and Miryam Benedited (choreographer).

This committee of experts will be in charge of assessing the songs received by RTVE during the submissions window from 16th May until 10th October 2023. Once concluded, they will select the 16 singers who will compete to win Benidorm’s Bronze Microphone and represent Spain at the 68th Eurovision Song Contest in Sweden.

So far, the relaunch of Benidorm Fest has given Spain a 3rd place and a 17th place finish at Eurovision. Can this shake-up at the top help Spain win in Sweden next May? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!