Eurovision’s executive team has been chosen for Sweden 2024

Sweden is already well into preparations to host the 68th Eurovision Song Contest. Today broadcaster SVT announced the members of the executive team that will be responsible for Sweden’s seventh time hosting the Contest!

Ebba Adielsson will be the Executive Producer for Eurovision 2024. Despite having to step down from her role at SVT Nöje to take on Eurovision, she’s thrilled about today’s announcement:

“I am very proud and happy about this extraordinary thing the mission and can now finally present the first key roles and the management of the core team that will lead the Eurovision Song Contest 2024. It is not possible to find a more experienced trio in this context and it feels extremely safe to have them on board this gigantic and very complex production.”

Christel Tholse Willers was named the Executive Producer responsible for communication, press, branding and events in collaboration with the host city. She had a similar role when Malmö was chosen as host city for Eurovision 2013. She has also worked as an executive producer for Melodifestivalen.

Tobias Åberg will be responsible for all technical production as Executive in Charge of Production. This will be his third Eurovision, having worked on the Contests in Malmö and Stockholm. Since then he has been Head of Production or a technical expert in several Eurovision productions over the last eight years, most recently for the BBC in Liverpool.

Johan Bernhagen was, together with Martin Österdahl, executive producer for Eurovision 2016 and also worked as Head of Productions in Malmö in 2013. This time he’ll be the Executive Line Producer, responsible for finances and the overall technical production together with Tobias Åberg.

There are a few more key roles to fill, and SVT hopes to name them soon.

Monday 12th June was the final day for Swedish cities to officially express interest to host Eurovision 2024. SVT will now begin having conversations with those municipalities that submitted bids to find the most sustainable and efficient option for the broadcast.

We’ll have to wait and see if the host city will be named on 9th July, as Malmö and Stockholm were (in 2012 and 2015 respectively).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!