Sanremo’s Second Evening: Running Order and Eurovision Hosts!

After a glittering opening to the 72nd Sanremo Festival last night, this morning’s press conference gave us a glimpse of what to expect tonight.

Sad news to open the press conference, as it was dedicated to Monica Vitti, whose death was announced. A moment of silence was held in her honour. She was an Italian actress best known for her starring roles in films directed by Michelangelo Antonioni during the early-to-mid 1960s.

The press conference was attended by director of Rai 1 Stefano Coletta and deputy director Claudio Fasulo, who as usual explained the schedule for tonight. Additionally, the director of Rai Play Elena Capparelli, mayor of Sanremo Alberto Biancheri,  artistic director Amadeus, set designer Gaetano Castelli and tonight’s co-host, actress Lorena Cesarini were in attendance.

Rai 1 director Coletta spoke of last night’s success, attributing it to the quality of the songs. About 10,911,000 viewers watched the Festival last night in Italy, which accounts for about 54.7% of the audience share. That’s the highest it’s been in 17 years!

Gaetano Castelli receives his award from the mayor of Sanremo.
Source: RAI

Set designer Gaetano Castelli was also awarded for his 20 years as set designer of the Sanremo Festival. Mayor Biancheri claimed, “To Gaetano Castelli, creator of dreams and for 20 years, the set designer of Sanremo.”

As for tonight’s show, Claudio Fasulo commented,

“Tonight we will have Laura Pausini and Checco Zalone, then we will have Margherita Mazzucco and Gaia Girace from L’Amica Geniale. As you know, Luca Argentero will not be there for family reasons. We will dedicate time to the 2026 Milan-Cortina Olympics, we will launch a contest between two songs to choose the Olympic anthem and there will be Arisa and Malika Ayane. From the Costa Toscana ship we will then have Ermal Meta. Finally tonight, we will find out the Eurovision 2022 hosts!

Running Order – Second Evening

As they did yesterday, the Italian press will give a vote from 1 to 10 for each song tonight. They will perform in the following order:

  1. SangiovanniFarfalle
  2. Giovanni TruppiTuo padre, mia madre, Lucia
  3. Le VibrazioniTantissimo
  4. EmmaOgni volta è così
  5. Matteo RomanoVirale
  6. Iva ZanicchiVoglio amarti
  7. Ditonellapiaga con Donatella RettoreChimica
  8. ElisaO forse sei tu
  9. Fabrizio MoroSei tu
  10. TananaiSesso occasionale
  11. IramaOvunque sarai
  12. AKA 7even Perfetta così
  13. Highsnob e HuAbbi cura di te


Mahmood and Blanco’s “Brividi” won the press over last night. What was your favourite performance last night, and who are you looking forward to the most tonight? Let us know below or on our socials @escbubble !

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!