SVT announces launch of Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame!

This year we will celebrate the 60th winner of the Swedish television spectacular Melodifestivalen and to commemorate broadcaster SVT have announced the launch of a Hall of Fame to celebrate the rich history of the contest.

This years Andra Chansen “Second Chance” show on February 29th will feature the launch of the Hall of Fame celebrating the most legendary of performances and artists who have taken part over the past decades. SVT Melodifestivalen producer Christer Bjorkman said in a an SVT statement:

“This is a prize to pay tribute to those who made the Melodifestivalen what it is today. It’s not just the winners who tell the festival’s fantastic story. There is so much else we want to honor”

Starting from 2021 six artists will be admitted entry to the hall of fame, but to kick off this very special event a total of 48 individuals will be inducted into the hall of fame at the 2020 Andra Chansen show! From 2021 there will be an 18 artist shortlist from which 6 artists will be selected to join the hall of fame decided by a viewer vote on the Mello app so let us know on our socials who YOU want to see inducted into the Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame!

For those of you worrying about your favourite Eurovison winning Swedish artist, fear not! SVT has confirmed that Swedish Eurovison winners ABBA, Herreys, Carola, Charlotte Perrelli, Loreen and Mans will be 6 of the 48 inducted this year!

Melodifestivalen 2020 launches on 1st February with the first semi final from Linköping and the Hall of Fame event will launch during the Andra Chansen show on February 29th which will come live from Eskilstuna!

Last year John Lundvik won Melodifestivalen with his song “Too Late For Love” which went on to achieve 5th place in Eurovision 2019, relive his final performance here:

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!