Eurostars nominated for 2021 MTV Europe Music Awards, with Måneskin in two worldwide categories

Yesterday, Billboard announced the nominees for this year’s MTV Europe Music Awards, due to be held at László Papp Arena in Budapest on 14th November.

Among the billing for its “Regional Awards”, as has been the case over the past few years, several Eurovision and National Final alumni are present, perhaps the most recognisable being 2021 winners Måneskin and 3rd place Gjon’s Tears, who are up for Best Italian and Best Swiss Act respectively.

Måneskin will face competition in their category from Sanremo 2021 alum Madame, whose Dardust-produced trap song Voce brought her to 8th place in March.

Elsewhere, two Festival da Canção alumni, Bárbara Tinoco (2020, Passe-Partout) and Diogo Piçarra (2018, Canção do fim) have been nominated for Best Portuguese Act, Max Barskih, who came second to Gaitana to represent Ukraine in 2012 (Dance), is up for Best Russian Act, and Operación Triunfo‘s Aitana, who came third with Lo malo in 2018 with Ana Guerra, is up for Best Spanish Act.

Polish-Swedish diva Margaret, of Krajowe Eliminacje 2016 and Melodifestivalen 2018 and 2019 fame, is once again up for Best Polish Act, which she won in 2020.

However, perhaps the most exciting detail is that, in tandem with their ever-growing global domination project, Måneskin are nominated for two of the “main-ticket” awards, which are, in spite of the name “Europe Music Awards”, generally dominated by US-based and/or English-speaking artists.

They are up for Best Group, alongside the likes of BTS, Imagine Dragons and Jonas Brothers, and Best Rock, alongside Coldplay and Foo Fighters.

On 19th October, Måneskin released the slightly disorienting music video for their new smash hit MAMMAMIA, which has already charted in 18 countries and reached No.6 in their native Italy.

Eurostars genuinely have a strong history at the EMAs. Last year, as well as Margaret, Diodato and Fernando Daniel each won their respective regional award, Daniel’s second on-the-trot after 2019, in which second-placed Mahmood, Vidbir champion MARUV and Junior Eurovision winner Roksana Węgiel also took home awards for Italy, Russia and Poland respectively.

Voting for all the main awards and your regional award are open here until 10th November at 22:59 CET.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!