Sennek releases new EP “Eurovision Unplugged”

Earlier today, 2018’s Belgian representative Sennek, aka Laura Groeseneken, released her latest EP, featuring acoustic covers of Eurovision songs through the ages, titled Eurovision Unplugged.

The four-song collection features Sennek’s unique live lounge renditions of two former winning tracks, Teach-in’s Ding-a-dong (Netherlands 1975) and Conchita’s Rise Like A Phoenix (Austria 2014), as well as Gina G’s Ooh Ahh…Just A Little Bit (UK 1996) and Ann Christy’s Gelukkig zijn (Belgium, also from 1975). It was produced by Yannic Fonderie of NIA music studios in London, and distributed by record label Yukimi.

The idea for the EP came from a gig in her hometown of Herent, just north of Leuven, in January, which was sold under the tagline: “Think of the classic songs of the famous festival, but without glitter and fireworks. Cosy, warm and intimate are the key words of this unique performance.” She arranged the songs together with pianist Didier Deruyter, who provides accompaniment along with Christophe de Visscher on double bass and Toon van Dionant on percussion.

In 2018, Sennek was internally selected by Flemish broadcaster VRT to represent Belgium with the Hooverphonic-penned soul ballad A Matter of Time. Unfortunately, despite being touted as a favourite for a decent result, she finished 12th in the first semi-final and failed to qualify, the first Belgian non-qualifier for 4 years.

Remember to follow ESCBubble on Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and Twitter, and to subscribe to our YouTube channel, for more exclusive Eurovision content!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Support ESCBubble!

Like our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter, to get all the Eurovision news as they happen!